Results

Allen Jackson mail: allen.jackson@klarkzon.eu | web: allen.klarkzon.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 20:20:22 +0000
The Human Toll Of Terror
The New York Times stopped the clock on two weeks in March when there were high-profile attacks that commanded headlines — and attacks in places where they have become almost routine. In that period, they counted 247 men, women and children cut down by Islamist extremists in mass killings carried out at soft targets in six countries.
Rosemarie Perdok mail: rosemarieperdok@outlook.com | web: https://profile.live.com/cid-7cd3f97991c2d348/ | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 04:33:02 +0000
The Rise Of Badminton In A Rio Favela
How an olympian got his start at a facility hand-built by his father.
Anthony Phillips mail: anthony.phillips@innovation-km.com | web: anthony.innovation-km.com | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 02:33:03 +0000
WikiLeaks Has Officially Lost The Moral High Ground
In the last two weeks, the font of digital secrets has doxed millions of Turkish women, leaked the DNC emails which suggested the site was colluding with the Russian government, and fired off some seriously anti-Semitic tweets. It’s… weird.
Vincent Foster mail: vincent.foster@affablyhomonym.com | web: vincent.affablyhomonym.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 11:29:47 +0000
How To Get 1% Interest On Your Banking Account
Earning 1% interest on a checking account is practically unheard of. Through Aspiration’s Summit account, you're able to make 100x more than what you’d normally make with a big bank checking account.
Walter Burns mail: walter.burns@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: walter.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 13:23:19 +0000
A Tour Of Guillermo Del Toro's Horror House, Where He Actually Lives
The spooky director's home is full of oddities, from silicone life-size statutes of literary giants to giant blaster guns. It's frickin' awesome.
Edward Jordan mail: edward.jordan@klarkzon.eu | web: edward.klarkzon.eu | when: Mon, 25 Jul 2016 18:44:34 +0000
Just The Good (And Bad) Stuff From The Democratic National Convention
After last week's crazy, Trump-tastic Republican Convention, Democrats hoped that this week's Democratic National Convention would be tame in comparison. Luckily for media hungry spectators, it looks like that won't be the case.
Jimmy Garcia mail: jimmy.garcia@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: jimmy.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 01:00:04 +0000
The Libertarian Economic Theory That Might Be Secretly Driving 'Pokémon Go'
People come together with the game, but not through force — they find each other, go outside, and the spark of human interaction just shows itself. It adds something without creating limits.
Rosemarie Perdok mail: rosemarieperdok@outlook.com | web: https://profile.live.com/cid-7cd3f97991c2d348/ | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 01:48:02 +0000
This Shocking Video Of Locked Up Teens Is Rocking Australia
In an investigative report by the Four Corners TV program, the unsettling conditions in Australian teen prisons are revealed.
Kenneth Rivera mail: kenneth.rivera@horse-d.eu | web: kenneth.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 15:41:36 +0000
Trump: I Hope Russia Can Locate Hillary's Missing Emails
Donald Trump, apparently concerned that the Democratic convention is stealing the spotlight this week, held a press conference Wednesday morning and things got weird.
Jacob Cox mail: jacob.cox@innovation-km.com | web: jacob.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 23:27:03 +0000
What Justin Bieber’s New Male Fans Tell Us About The Modern Man
In their tempered devotion to Justin Bieber, his fan men expose a vacillating portrait of contemporary masculinity. They have an ambivalent relationship with Bieber’s latest incarnation — one that’s manly but contrite, angsty but staid, artsy but still a little douchey.
Kevin James mail: kevin.james@geheime.club | web: kevin.geheime.club | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 13:54:22 +0000
Take An Eerie Trip Below The Sea Ice In Antarctica
If you're brave enough (and can find your way out to McMurdo Station, Antarctica) you might be able to get yourself a quick tour under the ice.
Harry Simmons mail: harry.simmons@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: harry.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 15:13:04 +0000
This Homemade Water Wheel Generator Made Of Plastic Bottles Can Charge A Phone
Well, mostly bottles. The creator, Thomas Kim, also used a few disposable platters, a stepping motor and rectifier circuit.
Brian Dixon mail: brian.dixon@geheime.club | web: brian.geheime.club | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 21:51:03 +0000
Was That A Russian Spy, Or Am I Getting Paranoid?
If you plan on reporting from Russia, you should come prepared to be monitored by the government. Just ask reporters, dissidents and activists in the country, whose tales of surveillance and harassment range from "badly written spy novel" to terrifying.
Gregory James mail: gregory.james@geheime.club | web: gregory.geheime.club | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:28:17 +0000
'Stranger Things' Side-By-Side With All The '70s And '80s Movies It References
The new hit Netflix series definitely a strong "ET" vibe going on, but that's not the only classic sci-fi/coming-of-age story it references.
Shawn Robinson mail: shawn.robinson@thedarkswans.com | web: shawn.thedarkswans.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 20:03:03 +0000
Seventeen’s Infamous 'Am I Emo?' Guide, 14 Years Later
Emo is having a moment right now, so obviously it’s time to dust off your archived August 2002 issue of Seventeen and re-read the teen fashion mag’s infamous, hilarious, and occasionally educational guide to the emo lifestyle.
Carl Cruz mail: carl.cruz@klarkzon.eu | web: carl.klarkzon.eu | when: Tue, 26 Jul 2016 19:30:37 +0000
Gang Of Kissing Humpback Whales Surface Right Next To Man's Kayak
We've posted enough videos of whales to vouch that they are magnificent and friendly creatures.
Nynke Van der louw mail: nvdlouw@yahoo.com | web: http://greatestcamps.nl/ | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 17:45:04 +0000
Elon Musk's 'Master Plan' Completely Ignores Cities
Elon Musk's self-described "Master Plan" seems to be a master plan that will increase shareholder value, not ease transportation.
Harold Roberts mail: harold.roberts@hockeymail.de | web: harold.hockeymail.de | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 16:10:11 +0000
Facebook’s Really Big Plans For Virtual Reality
Facebook's $2 billion purchase of VR company Oculus left some scratching their heads. Bloomberg sat down with Mark Zuckerberg to figure out why.
Clarence Peterson mail: clarence.peterson@thedarkswans.com | web: clarence.thedarkswans.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:45:21 +0000
The Moment A Suspension Bridge Collapses During A Massive Flood
Massive flooding and landslides struck Nepal this week, killing dozens. The flooding also eroded enough of the riverbank on the Tinau river that a suspension bridge collapsed into the river.
Brandon Owens mail: brandon.owens@pulpfrictions.com | web: brandon.pulpfrictions.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 19:18:02 +0000
Sorry, Cockroach Milk Might Be The Superfood Of The Future
Let me cut straight to the chase here: Yeah, there’s a cockroach that gives birth to live young, and, yes, it produces a “milk” that scientists want humans to drink.
Kevin Long mail: kevin.long@ventredi.eu | web: kevin.ventredi.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 16:57:03 +0000
What Is The Roundest Country?
Last week, we found out which country was the most rectangular (congrats, Egypt!). This week — which country is the most, uh, circular?
Edward Ellis mail: edward.ellis@innovation-km.com | web: edward.innovation-km.com | when: Tue, 26 Jul 2016 14:47:41 +0000
Everything You Should Know Before Going On A Road Trip
You know that road trip you’ve been talking about all summer? Now’s the time to go. And we’ve done all the legwork for you to make sure it’s awesome. Shotgun!
Antonio Peterson mail: antonio.peterson@horse-d.eu | web: antonio.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:08:25 +0000
This Map Of Marijuana Use Is Wholly Unsurprising
There are some interesting insights to be gleaned from this map how many people smoke regularly in different areas, but the fact that northern California and Colorado lead the way is not one of them.
Brian West mail: brian.west@ventredi.eu | web: brian.ventredi.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 16:10:11 +0000
Darude Admits He's Never Actually Been In A Sandstorm
Darude, real name Ville Virtanen, was asked in a Reddit AMA today about his authority on the meteorological phenomena and whether he had experienced one during his 41 years of untz-untz-untz-making on Earth.
Anthony Ellis mail: anthony.ellis@horse-d.eu | web: anthony.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 15:25:14 +0000
The Trailer For M Night Shyamalan's Upcoming Movie 'Split' Is Surpisingly Terrifying
A good trailer by no means equals a good movie, but this really did give us the heebie jeebies.
Lee Rodriguez mail: lee.rodriguez@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: lee.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 13:15:45 +0000
John Hinckley, Who Tried To Kill Reagan, Wins His Freedom
Thirty-five years after he tried to kill a president, John Hinckley has won his freedom.
Jeffery Warren mail: jeffery.warren@ventredi.eu | web: jeffery.ventredi.eu | when: Tue, 26 Jul 2016 23:35:41 +0000
Welcome To Your Coworking Future
In the future according to coworking companies, we won't just be working at our offices — we'll be living there.
Jason Roberts mail: jason.roberts@thedarkswans.com | web: jason.thedarkswans.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 11:29:47 +0000
Headphones Of The Future
These bone conduction Bluetooth headphones use vibration technology to transmit audio without blocking your ears.
Peter Lewis mail: peter.lewis@hockeymail.de | web: peter.hockeymail.de | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:08:25 +0000
Charges Against Three Remaining Officers Dropped In Freddie Gray Case
The decision was announced at the start of a pretrial motions hearing for Officer Garrett Miller, who was the next scheduled officer to stand trial.
Ronald Nelson mail: ronald.nelson@klarkzon.eu | web: ronald.klarkzon.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 13:59:49 +0000
Harley The Cockatoo Is A Real Jerk, But We're Okay With It
Harley the cockatoo honestly does not give a crap about your cool cup pyramid. He will take that thing down piece by piece and stomp on your dreams. But we just can't stay mad at him.
Gregory Kennedy mail: gregory.kennedy@horse-d.eu | web: gregory.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:59:23 +0000
The Decline Of British English, Visualized
"Centre" vs "center." "Aeroplane" vs "airplane." Charting how American English spellings have become the standard spelling over the last century.
Ronald Boyd mail: ronald.boyd@geheime.club | web: ronald.geheime.club | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 03:48:09 +0000
Giant Hillary Clinton Breaks Through Glass Ceiling Of Former Presidents In Surprise Convention Video
In a surprise video presented to Tuesday's audience at the DNC, a super-sized version of Hillary Clinton broke through a virtual glass ceiling of former presidential men. The graphic was very cheesy, but in a glorious way.
Mark Carter mail: mark.carter@horse-d.eu | web: mark.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 16:10:11 +0000
These Qaddafi Henchmen, Wanted For Stealing Millions, Are Living In Britain
Three of the former Libyan dictator’s top officials are living comfortably in Britain despite being wanted in Tripoli for allegedly embezzling millions from the collapsed state — and the UK authorities have done nothing to help investigate.
Jerry Powell mail: jerry.powell@horse-d.eu | web: jerry.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:59:23 +0000
The Mathematics Of Jet Lag
In a recent paper, researchers from the University of Maryland discovered an asymmetry in the recovery of circadian rhythms after a travel disruption. Our brains have pacemaker cells that drive our natural rhythms.
Paul Martinez mail: paul.martinez@horse-d.eu | web: paul.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 12:46:24 +0000
Bill O'Reilly: Slaves That Built White House Were 'Well-Fed' And 'Had Decent Lodging'
Michelle Obama's comment during her DNC speech that she woke up every morning in a building built by slaves has sent certain sections of the commentariat into a tizzy. Still, we didn't quite expect Bill O'Reilly to go full-on "benevolent slavery."
Antonio Reynolds mail: antonio.reynolds@innovation-km.com | web: antonio.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 12:39:52 +0000
Here's A New Reason Bees Are Dying At An Alarming Rate
A new study from the Institute of Bee Health, published by Proceedings of the Royal Society B, finds that a common insecticide —presumably created by humans — suppresses the male honey bee’s ability to produce sperm.
Shawn Martinez mail: gmail@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: shawn.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 11:03:02 +0000
The Oppressive Gospel Of 'Minimalism'
Despite its connotations of absence, “minimalism” has been popping up everywhere lately, like a bright algae bloom in the murk of postrecession America.
Craig Perez mail: craig.perez@geheime.club | web: craig.geheime.club | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 12:39:52 +0000
Ralph Lauren’s American Dream
The iconic brand is struggling. How did we get here, and what happens next?
Roy Ward mail: roy.ward@ventredi.eu | web: roy.ventredi.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:59:23 +0000
The Second-Strangest Campaign Of The Season
How an eccentric liberal member of the House plans to take down Marco Rubio.
Bruce Jordan mail: bruce.jordan@innovation-km.com | web: bruce.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 11:29:47 +0000
Julian Assange Likely Has No Idea Who Hacked The DNC
When Assange says, “We keep secret the identity of our sources,” he often means precisely that: No one, not even him, knows who they are.
more